Q&A Forums

open cell vs wet blown cellulose? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
andy buff
Posted: Sep 17, 2011 09:42 AM
open cell vs wet blown cellulose?
i have a house on lake ontario we are ready to insulate whats going to be better long term wet blow cellulose or spray foam...it's all about the buget.so will open cell perform as well as wet cellulose. my concern is wet applied paper, vapor difusser film then dry wall wont the moiture be trapped? and for open cell which will be the more price competitive..is it better to paint the foam or paint the drywall with vapor primer or is two coats primer two coat paint enough...thanks skinny
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Sep 17, 2011 06:16 PM
I would recommend open cell foam over wet blown cellulose any day! A builder and I were just talking about that today and I asked him how long he waited to allow the cellulose to dry before sheetrocking. I would say at least 2 weeks with it being drier inside the house -that means a dehumidifier running almost continuously. He stated the contractor (who I know personally) stated, "waiting a day should do it!" I know from experience that it isn't dry after a day or even a week -especially in humid summer days. Now that the temp is decreasing, I would say you're much safer at about a week to 2 weeks minimum but not less than that!