Q&A Forums

Foaming an attic with existing insulation Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
bob brown
Posted: May 19, 2009 02:53 PM
Foaming an attic with existing insulation
I have a customer that wants to keep the existing blown-in insulation left in the floor of attic, then wants spray foam sprayed to the underside of the roof deck. They have HVAC equipment in the attic as well. Will this be a problem?
mason
Posted: May 19, 2009 04:57 PM
Yes, remove the insulation on the floor of the attic it is working against the insulation on the underside of the roof deck. When doing an unvented attic, you want the natural air infiltration from the interior spaces to go into the attic. This keeps the attic space typically within 7-8 degrees of the interior space. But, if you leave the insulation on the floor of the attic it will keep the attic closer to the outside temperature.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: May 19, 2009 09:22 PM