Q&A Forums

3" CC or 8" OC for attic Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Thomas Dasch
Posted: Apr 21, 2011 06:01 AM
3" CC or 8" OC for attic
House on the MD/PA line. 2"x6" roof 18" OC, unvented. Attic is used solely for storage/junk. Going to have the underside of the roof sheathing SPF including the gable ends.

My question deals with which of the 2 options would be most energy efficient:

1. 3" CC under roof and on gable ends.
2. 8" OC under roof and on gable ends.

The difference in price between the two options is only $300. The reason im debating with the 8" of OC is because 8" will completely cover the 2x6's thus reducing heat loss/gain through the wood.

Thoughts? 3" CC or 8" OC.

Thanks in advance.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Apr 21, 2011 07:18 AM
I would go with the 8" OC because of the thermal bridging which occurs through the wood. The 3" of CC would only allow more of the heat to pass through the wood which is only an R-3 at the edges of the foam. So, not a very bright idea.
Thomas Dasch
Posted: Apr 21, 2011 07:45 AM
Thermal bridging, thats the term I was looking for. Thanks Jim!

Searching the web I can't find information on how much thermal bridging really affects things but it seems there is a general consensus that there is some affect (duh right).

Any problems with using OC in terms of moisture getting caught between the roof sheathing and the foam?
Bryan Kwater
Posted: Apr 21, 2011 08:39 AM
You would also need to check into vapor barriers with open cell and thermal barriers for open and closed cell. Just make sure you understand everything required before you begin.
Thomas Dasch
Posted: Apr 21, 2011 09:27 AM