Q&A Forums

irregular spray pattern Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Feb 19, 2009 10:19 PM
irregular spray pattern
Hello fellow foamers. I have been spraying foam for 5 years now, so I am not a noobie. With that being said, I am trying to perfect my spray technique to get as flat and uniform a pattern as possible. Recently I have encountered a recurring, irregular pattern...a T-bone pattern if you will. I suspect this is due to my spray temperature being too hot. My foam specs call for around 120-125 degrees (btw I have a glascraft MH III w/ P-2 gun .01 mixing champer and tip). I have resorted to dropping my temps down to 108-100 degree range and a spray pressure of around 800-1000.

I feel my temperature readings are off because at the lower temperatures I lose that damn T-bone pattern and it sprays relatively well The lower pressure helps me get close to my spraying surface without blowing foam everywhere. I see liquid for less than a second and it starts its reaction. When I try and boost the temp up, the A & B react too quick resulting in spraying foam that has already begun to react. MY mixing chamber then gets fouled up within a matter of a couple of hours.

Have you guys encountered similar problems and if so, what has been your solution? What temps and pressure have you found the most conducive to good spraying. Thanks in advance for the input.
mason
Posted: Feb 20, 2009 07:18 AM
Air purge guns must have sufficient air flow through the mixing chamber to clean out the residual foam build up on the tip. But, as you have seen, too much air blows away the foam if you go back too soon over the same area. Then you lower your air pressure to the spraygun and the tip gets fouled by reacting foam. Higher temperatures make the foam set up quicker but they also make the foam build up more on the tip. Cooler temperatures lesson the build up on the tip but make the foam set up longer.