Q&A Forums

Insulate roofline or ceiling? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Apr 02, 2009 09:50 AM
Insulate roofline or ceiling?
I'm new to the foam biz, & still questioning if it's better to spray the roof or ceiling.
I'm building a new house in central Kansas where we get all 4 seasons of weather. There will be no HVAC in the attic & it will have a 12/12 roof pitch. Also will have aprx. 700 sf of roof overhanging deck or patio space.
mason
Posted: Apr 02, 2009 07:13 PM
Any insulation is more effective on the roof than inside the building. However, other factors should be considered such as aesthetics, overspray potential, weather limitations, training and experience. (roofing requires more training and entails higher liability)
travis fails
Posted: Apr 03, 2009 12:17 PM
I believe he was asking to spray under the roof or the ceiling of the attic, not roofing foam. Having a sealed attic in most cases is better, but in soemcases cost is a big factor.
Posted: Apr 03, 2009 07:46 PM
in this structure i would shoot down to the drywall lid,,economics,,,
12:12 will have more realestate up there than in the sidewalls,,talk about messing with the bid quote number!! and then you start talkin deeper depths as well...ouch those numbers can keep you from landing the job,,,
so,,
i would shoot 3-4 inches of opencell to the lid,, from the attic,,, to complete the building envelope,,then top over this with less expensive insulation media to obtain design spec...
now this is gonna open up the
"i only use cc in an attic because,," argument,,to which i say,,bla bla bla,,,lets talk...
mason
Posted: Apr 03, 2009 07:49 PM