Q&A Forums

Home owner/designer requesting commentary on .5lb OCF install Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Darin Gin
Posted: Jan 08, 2009 03:20 PM
Home owner/designer requesting commentary on .5lb OCF install
I'm building my first custom home (personal residence) near Lago Vista, TX. We've designed a 2-story and intended on doing foam insulation and solar water heating. We're at the insulation stage currently.

The foam that is being used is a 1/2 lb open sell foam - brand name: Demilac Sealection 500

3 walls in the home are 4", front and rear walls at 6". Foam was to be sprayed to 3.5" nominal depth in the exterior walls and to 5" depth on the roof deck. Roof deck sits on 2x6s.

I've never done a foam house before - technically, I'm working with a GC / licensed builder that has built well over 100 homes. I'm his second foam custom - so he doesn't have a lot of experience with foam either.

I have substantial concerns about the installation:
1) Foam on the roof deck seems to vary in thickness by a huge amount, which indicates to me a lack of experience or poor skills in spraying this stuff. Not all of the rafters were covered completely. When I asked the contractor about it, he told me that if I wanted 100% rafter coverage, I should have let him bid 6" foam depth... (not disclosed up front)

2) Wall foam has decent depth in most places, but there is a lot of pulling away and narrow depth in next to the studs. The excess foam was cut with a serrated blade.. Clean up OK, but there are some voids (big bubbles) in the foam, some small areas with no foam, and again - inconsistent depth.

We don't have inspectors in the area that are familiar with spray foam and technically an insulation inspection isn't required for my "rural" area... So I'm looking for some feedback as to the installation quality of the installation.

A link to posted photos:
Darin Gin
Posted: Jan 08, 2009 03:22 PM
First attempt at trying to link:
Darin Gin
Posted: Jan 08, 2009 03:27 PM