Q&A Forums

How much foam and fire ratings Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Jan 08, 2009 05:50 PM
How much foam and fire ratings
I’m an energy consultant in central Maryland. Most of my work is in the controls area, but I’m working on a project that involves spray foam insulation.

Our project is to build a low cost work shop, that is as energy efficient as possible. The building is a 24’ by 40’ pole barn with 29 gauge metal siding and a 4/12 29 gauge metal roof. The floor will be a 4” fiber concrete with ½” pex tubing for radiant heat and 2” of foam board insulation. The plan is to spray the the entire interior with 2” of high density foam for air control and insulation. Air quality will be handled with a HRV. The target winter heated temperature is 55 deg F and the building is in central Maryland.

My questions are, will 2’ of foam be enough to keep condensation at bay, and will foam with a class 1 fire rating need to be covered up? The vertical walls of the building will be covered, but not the lid, if possible.

Thanks in advance,
Ron Camerata
Energy Management & Control
Mount Airy, Maryland
Roger Morrison
Posted: Jan 09, 2009 06:20 AM
Ron:

How much insulation you need to prevent condensation depends on mainly two factors: geographic location and interior conditions. You provided the first but only half the second. Assuming that there are no unusual sources of humidity in the building, two inches of ccSPF should be ample to control condensation. If the building is enclosing a swimming pool or soup kitchen, all bets are off.