Q&A Forums

CC shrinkage Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Craig Deim
Posted: Mar 05, 2011 10:29 PM
CC shrinkage
We are on our second go around trying to get a 1500 sf additon insulated. First attempt using a soy based cc resulted in 80 percent failure due to severe shrinkage away from studs and plates. Contractor and supplier removed and replaced product where we thought it failed. Second attempt now has 80 percent success (so seems).
Product has actually seperated king and trimmers at window locations and lifted backing in others.
We have cut foam in several locations where we think it is good with a nice adhesion to studs but once opened up has a 1/8 to 3/16 gap between product and stud. My question then is that typical with a proper install? We can identify the bad spots, how do I have confidence to call the sheetrockers? I haven't noticed any pics posted but I am a first timer.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Mar 06, 2011 01:39 AM
What your seeing is typically due to the moisture content in the wood if it was sprayed on ratio. The moisture content in the wood can cause shrinkage and I would expect it to be much less the second time around. The areas you're seeing shrinkage seems to be in the larger mass areas - am I correct in this statement?
Thanks,
Jim
Daniel X
Posted: Mar 06, 2011 02:16 AM
This can also happen if the applicator tries to install to thick of a lift all at once.

My max is 2" per lift and I allow the foam to cool before my next lift...
mason
Posted: Mar 06, 2011 09:06 AM
I have investigated dozens of cases of foam shrinkage similar to what you have experienced.

In most cases, the foam was sprayed in thickness greater than 2 inches and/or subsequent lifts of foam were installed too soon after the first.