Q&A Forums

CC Shrinkage revisited Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Craig Deim
Posted: Mar 11, 2011 09:30 PM
CC Shrinkage revisited
I ve waited a few days to see how the application has reacted. Neither the supplier or the applicator has given me an appraisal on the the situation. This is my own project as a homeowner and doing a 1500 sf additon. I am a retired builder of 29 yrs and have lived thru the energy crisis in the 70s and the interest rate crunch of the 80s. We did all the energy efficient ideas back then and now that I am doing my own, I thought I would use the latest technology. What I didn t realize is how many companies are promoting new and unproven mixes.
My unfortunate situation is I have nothing to base the decision to live with it or make the contractor rip it all out and replace. Ninety percent of the application appears to be good but seems to be under extreme tension.
I respect all of the ideas offered previous and I checked each one of them. When I cut a cross section from a wall I can hear the relief ( something similar to putting your ear to a bowl of rice Krispies)Is that typical of cutting thru the cells? At the present I have heaters running at 90 plus degrees in the additions to see if stress is a factor. I need to come to a conclusion or tear it out and start over.
Daniel X
Posted: Mar 11, 2011 11:27 PM
The tension from shrinkage is NOT normal.

Properly installed, quality 2lb. should not be shrinking...
quentin
Posted: Mar 12, 2011 12:56 AM
Rice krispies sounds like it may have been off ratio and ISO rich. Is it firm but compresses without any sounds or does ir feel crunchy when you press in to it?
Craig Deim
Posted: Mar 12, 2011 10:32 AM