Q&A Forums

RetroFoam wall and OC closed attic Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Scott Plantier
Posted: Aug 09, 2007 10:29 AM
RetroFoam wall and OC closed attic
Hi,

I'm a carpenter redoing an old plank /framed home. 2" and 3"cavities for the plank and I'm considering Retrofoam to retain interior finishes (horsehair plaster and lath.) Retrofoam is R4.6 with:
Perms Per Inch of 6.631
Permeability 270C/50% UR ยต=3.36
Surface Absorption <1% by vol.
ASTM E96 PM/MAT

I have lap siding over 2" planks a 2 or 3" void then plaster and either wall paper or a primed and latex top coated finish. The attic is planned for 6+ of Icynene with all framing members wrapped to eliminate thermal voids. (an OC the forum is familiar with)

Where's everyone stand on this and what is the situation of suits for these closed attic spray jobs? Am I headed the wrong way all together?
philip mullins
Posted: Aug 09, 2007 07:35 PM
i personaly would recomend closed cell (rigid) foam, especialy in an unvented attic system. but open cell is still leaps and bounds better than fiberglass. though it does not stregthen or seal nearly as well as cc. since you mentioned the foam company you have chosen i can only guess that you have been told that cc will crack, and that all other products available are junk and thiers is great. the truth is that all oc foams are very similiar and the biggest factor in performance is in the quality of the installation.

sounds to me like you are doing a top notch restoration. and you are doing rite to research a little before moving ahead. i would recomend you talk to some other installers in ur area. some one who sprays both oc and cc. they will more than likely answer ur questions HONESTLY and help you select a foam that is right for ur application. not just push thier product and bad mouth all others. wich, by the way, is basicaly the same stuff they are selling. good luck.
Gerry Wagoner
Posted: Aug 09, 2007 08:15 PM