Q&A Forums

PTO generator Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Joel Sikkila
Posted: Apr 23, 2011 12:47 PM
PTO generator
Hello all. I am a newbie to the industry, but have been reading the posts for some time. The info here is invaluable, and I thank you all for sharing. I am in the process of planning my spray rig set-up, and have decided for various reasons to go with a box truck instead of the pick-up/trailer combo. In reading the boards and posts, I have not come across any comments about a PTO driven generator utilizing the readily available power supply of the truck's engine. There is an interesting one available (www.realacpower.com) that I am looking into. I would like to hear some feedback on the pros and cons of such a set-up. It seems to me that the reduction of weight, required floorspace in the box and the added benefit of not having two diesel engines to maintain outweighs the disadvantage of having the truck run at idle speeds for extended periods. I appreciate any insight that others might have on this.

Secondly, I have decided on a Graco H25, but am a little concerned about the comments I read about the circuit boards frying. My question here for the guys that have had this problem is, are you running off a generator or shore power or does it make a difference? Also, has anyone tried installing a whole-panel surge protector such as you might find in a house? I wonder if these type of units might help with the situation?

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm just a new guy trying not to make too many mistakes...
Posted: Apr 23, 2011 09:33 PM
Do you have the room under the hood of a box truck for a 30-40 KW Generator or would you have to catch it somewhere else.