Q&A Forums

moisture Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Feb 28, 2011 01:23 PM
moisture
Mason
I am a sprayfoam contractor out of Michigan. We installed a conditioned attic assembly in August of 2010 which was 2" closed cell and R-19 unfaced fiberglass batt. The home owner did not finish or condition the room all winter. He just recently went to install the drywall and discovered the fiberglass was wet. I am completely baffled at what would cause this. The only resonable explination in my mind is that the condensation formed due to the fact that the room was not conditioned. Could you shed any light on this?
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Feb 28, 2011 02:58 PM
Troubleshooting...
Welcome to the world of flash and batt! This is the problem that we've been seeing in the market since the inception of flash-n-batt and yet it still continues. As a matter of fact,surprisingly, some code officials even endorse it. We've had many of the same calls, but luckily and thankfully, we didn't do the insulation. That's why we won't do flash-n-batt type of installs. Because it still allows mositure to pass through the fiberglass coolling it as it passes through and when it reaches the foam on the inside, it condenses! Yes, even with 2" of closed cell foam. So, no matter how much foam you put in, it can still condense on the inside of the foam as the air cools as it passes through the filterglass.

So, the correction I would see, is to tear out the filterglass and spray some more foam in to prevent condensation. This can be open of closed cell.

Jim
Posted: Feb 28, 2011 03:08 PM