Q&A Forums

Frozen Water Services Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Eugene Ninnie, P.E.
Posted: Mar 13, 2009 10:32 AM
Frozen Water Services
I am a Town Engineer in a small high altitude ( 7800ft) town on Western Wyoming. We have water services that vary between 4 feet deep to 8 feet deep and all are influenced by frozen ground conditions. The Only way to prevent freezing is to run water in service called a bleeder, either running a toilet or faucet throughout the winter season. Being a former consulting engineer from back east the entire concept is foreign and needs to be replaced with a better concept. I have been in the job for about 2 years. We are also instituting a street by street campaign to replace the water and sewer as well as update the streets. In doing so I want to insulate the existing services, so I can eliminate the bleeder concept and reduce the flows at the wastewater treatment facility, which is almost at capacity during the winter months, for obvious reasons. Using closed cell technology what would you suggest? It would have to be quick and cost effective
jeff henderson
Posted: Mar 13, 2009 02:22 PM
I have been looking at something similar in my hometown, where the water lines are all placed on a recirculating system (two water lines lead to each house, both under pressure, one slightly higher than the other so as to allow the water to recirc). The recirculating system than goes through a gigantic boiler fired heat exchanger system so as to keep the entire loop above freezing. At least this way it is closed loop, unlike your system. We save on water treatment, but lose on heating oil.

Everytime I look at our above-ground sewer boxes, filled with 80 year old wood shavings as their only insulation, I ask myself...how can this be done better?

I hope you don't consider this to be a highjacked post, it was intended to be a slight broadening of the original question.
mason
Posted: Mar 13, 2009 07:50 PM