Q&A Forums

Coverage of roof coating. Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Glenn Gamblin
Posted: Apr 25, 2007 08:11 PM
Coverage of roof coating.
I am new to the spray foam roofing market, been insulating houses and inside metal buildings for years so I have a quick question. I am buiding a job of recoating a roof that was spray foamed 7 years ago and they simply want it pressure washed and recoated. It is a flat roof with drains and it is 55000 square feet. How much coverage will a 55 gallon barrel of BASF's elastomeric roof coating cover. Also, what price would be reasonable. Thankyou.

GG
Gerry Wagoner
Posted: Apr 25, 2007 09:39 PM
Best talk to BASF and get their recommendations.

Acrylink recommends 2-3 gallons for recoats. More if there is foam showing through. What kind of coating is on the roof? I'm guessing acrylic because silicone would not need a recoat at the seven-year mark. If foam is showing through, get moving! It is very difficult to heal 250 mils of erosion with 25-mils of coating.

have fun,

olger
Glenn Gamblin
Posted: Apr 25, 2007 09:57 PM
Thanks for the reply olger. One more dumb question, 2 - 3 gallons per how many feet. My distributor said that I needed 2 gallons, but I forgot to ask that. The foam is not showing yet, but the acrylic is pretty thin.
Posted: Apr 25, 2007 11:28 PM
When we recoat, we use a weathered acrylic cleaner and powerwasher, let it dry and apply 2 gallons per 100 square feet of coating, or RRIII. If foam is barely showing, we prime it first.
Gerry Wagoner
Posted: Apr 26, 2007 11:26 PM
Hi Glen. 2-3 gallons per square.

olger
Aaron Scurlock
Posted: Apr 27, 2007 06:16 AM