Q&A Forums

Coating Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Yvan Richard
Posted: Nov 22, 2010 08:40 PM
Coating
I am currently quoting on 4 large tanks that are going to hold liquid CO2. We will be putting 5 inches of foam. The temperature inside the tank will have to be maintained at -28Celcius.

There will be a coating that will have to be applied and the customer wants it in white to reflect the sunlight. (we don't do coatings)

Does anyone have any recommendations for this type of coating?
SprayFoamSupply.com
Posted: Nov 22, 2010 11:04 PM
What brand of foam are you using? Most of the name brand foam manufacturers have acrylic coating for their foams for roofing applications. I know that Bayer has a white acrylic coating which you can spray on like paint. 2-3 coats should last for 10-15 years before they need a recoat.
Hope this helps.

George
Terrance Harris
Posted: Nov 23, 2010 03:14 PM
I'm not a coating expert but it would seem to me you have a hot to cold moisture drive in this type of application. I don't believe acrylic coating coating is the answer here. You may want to talk to a coatings rep.
John Shockney
Posted: Nov 23, 2010 07:14 PM
I got into the same situation last summer spraying ductwork with 2# on a roof last summer. I didn’t have a spray rig that would handle the high solids acrylic roof coating and when I talked to some painters that do spray this coating they quoted a dollar per square foot plus the paint for 12,000 square feet.

Well I thought that was a lot for just labor so I bought a used air driven paint pump, new hoses, paint gun, and spray tips. We rented a gas tow behind air compressor and sprayed the job ourselves and even though I was a little afraid of taking on the coating I found that spraying paint was simple compared to spraying foam.

The worst thing on the whole job was fighting the weather I do like spraying foam inside better.