Q&A Forums

cementitious foam - 100% fireproof Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
drew renshaw
Posted: Aug 10, 2008 10:53 AM
cementitious foam - 100% fireproof
Mason,
There seems to be a product called Airkrete, that solves the foam fire hazard issue. Can you please tell me if it is for real. I am a builder and would love to start foaming my houses, but I am very concerned about open attics with only a fire retardant paint on top of the foam. I realize we could sheet rock the rafters to cover the foam, but that gets expensive.
Thank you for your time, Drew Renshaw
mason
Posted: Aug 10, 2008 01:28 PM
All I know is what I read on their website. It is a material consisting of air, water and concrete that is pumped into a cavity and sets up in 2 days. You require a retaining reinforcement mesh if installing it to an open space. I am not sure you can install it overhead.

It claims an R value of 3.9 per inch. (which sounds high to me based on the raw ingredients.

I have no information about its effectiveness, or track record. I would be concerned about shrinking, sagging and cracking.

There a few intumescent coatings that have very good fire performance over SPF. Check out the specific test results on the coatings with a specific foam.
drew renshaw
Posted: Aug 10, 2008 02:59 PM
Thanks for replying so fast. I build large custom houses in Memphis, Tn - to see them check my website drewrenshaw.com. With such long rafters it gets pricey to foam them solid. From my study of the spray foam industry, I am leaning towards 2 pound sprayed 1.5 or 2 inches thick and 6 inch batting with mineral wool batts for the extra r value I need and for the fire protection. Or should I spray the foam with a intumescent coating and then glass batt 6 inches for extra r. Which would have a better fire resistance? and which might cost more than the other?and which might have a better insulating performance?