Q&A Forums

what a mess, a newbie covered in foam. Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Brian Mulder
Posted: Nov 27, 2006 08:28 PM
what a mess, a newbie covered in foam.
I have just finished my first spray foam job on a house I have built for a customer. I am a contractor who is now a closed cell foam applicator. I have been looking to get a foam machine for a while and now am spraying my houses and others. One thing I have found out is that if you do not want to get foam on anything you need to store it in the next county.

The question I have is...when spraying overhead does everyone get a very messy over spray that covers everything? I did cover all areas with plastic and myself with tyvek hooded coveralls with a respirator (cartridge type) and cheap goggles, gloves etc. What do you do to keep the foam off of your wrists? Or is that just a hazard of the job to lose the hair on your wrists when trying to remove the foam? How about the face? The area where the mask and the goggles don't cover gets sprayed as well and my skin gets a nice thin coating there too.

Are most of you using the full face respirators and are they cartridge type or supplied air or are you using the same system I am using. Does anyone have a good internet source for respirators and tyvek suits as well as cheap goggles I can buy in bulk until I decide on what kind or respirator system to use.

Has anyone used the electric saws to cut back the over spray between joists or do you just use a hand saw like I am using now. Where can I shop for one of these as well.

I live in the Catskill Mountains of NYS and keep heat on in the trailer at all times during the cold nights. I am not sure if it is my technique or the temp that is keeping me from getting a smooth finish but will keep trying.