Q&A Forums

Unvented attics Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Dave Strnad
Posted: Aug 23, 2006 08:04 AM
Unvented attics
I know we have touched on this before, but I would like some input. I have a very large custom home to do and basically the guy wants me to grantee that he will not have an icing problem or icicls hanging off his roof. I am in northen michigan and we get a lot of snow. Personally I don't think a little ice hurts anything and the lack of ice is more to do with attic ventilation than insulation. That brings up that as a builder I was tought that proper ventilation elliminates icing and that even if you filled the entire attic with insulation you would still have an icing problem if it wasnt vented properly. Anyway I know that spf is a great product but the heat still goes somewhere. If I understand it right, the freeze thaw point is within the spf so icing is not an issue however when snow builds up on the roof it acts as insulation and pushes the freeze thaw point up and above the roof causing an ice problem. What I am not sure of is where that point is and how much snow buildup it takes to shift the point above the roof. The home is 2x12 rafters my options are either spray directly to the underside of the roof deck or put air chutes up and spray them. To me the air chutes seem like a bad Idea. Does anyone have examples that they have done in snowy climates and the outcomes?
Melvin Chandler
Posted: Aug 23, 2006 10:52 PM
I would contact Demilec and see what they have experienced as well as what they suggest. Ask for real world data not testing and code info.
Gerry Wagoner
Posted: Aug 27, 2006 11:50 AM
I wouldn't guarantee no icing for the homeowner. He sounds demanding. There are conditions that may cause icicles, like solar radiation and color of shingles.

Foam on the underside of the deck will absolutely eliminate heat transfer through the roof. No ventilation is needed. An HRV will be needed though.

olger
Posted: Aug 27, 2006 05:06 PM