Q&A Forums

Sprayfoam's Other uses Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Dec 22, 2010 07:04 PM
Sprayfoam's Other uses
Hi guys, I am a spray foam roofer first, polyurea applicator second and sprayfoam insulation guy third. I prefer my work in that order if I can and I would rather be outside any day than inside.

Sometimes weather doesn't allow me to work when I want to work.

The past two years, I have picked up spray foam jobs that haven't quite been the norm. I did about a dozen caves out of foam for the Sci-fi channel, B Movies and Feature films (better than anything Hollywood can come up with), I did 4 rock waterfall inside private residences, two outside, 4 koi ponds with rock waterfalls, a dozen or so silicone molds taken from trees to rock walls, etc...

Bottom line, in 2010, my little hobby made as much as a bunch of $30,000.00 to $50,000.00 roofs and three $500,000.00 roofs mixed in.

Some of you guys may laugh, but if you have any kind of imagination at all, roofing and insulation is not your only way to make a living with foam.

The reason for this post is that I am doing some further training with John Kells, who first introduced me into this world while he was doing a rock trade show booth for Regal Nails in Vegas.

The booth was probably $125K that he was charging and when I went over to take a look I was amazed at what I could be doing.

John will be coming into Baton Rouge in February to work with me on GFRC (Glass Fibered Re-inforced Concrete); however, between his partner and myself, we are going to be putting on a seminar to include the following:

Rock Caves
Boulders
Rock Waterfalls
Ponds
Tree Replicas
Silicone Molds
Polyurethane Moulding
Glass Fibered REinforced Concrete
Basic Painting/Coating structures to make look indegenious to the specific area that you are trying to emulate
Basic Spray Foam Mechanics

I am working on getting my supplier BASF involved and if anyone else has some idea's, feel free to shoot me an email.