Q&A Forums

0.8 pound R-4.5 open cell? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
John Shockney
Posted: Dec 22, 2010 10:59 PM
0.8 pound R-4.5 open cell?
Mason have you heard of an .8 pound open cell that tests at R-4.5 per inch?

How can they get higher R-values with air as the primary insulator?

Has it passed all the testing?

Who is supplying this product?

I just had a customer ask for this product (a competitor is offering it) but non of the name brand suppliers that I use (BASF, Bay Systems, LaPola,…) offer anything like this.

Thanks

Airpro
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Dec 22, 2010 11:03 PM
I've heard about this. I saw it at the SPFA trade show last time. Can't remember their name but they had a .5, .8, 1.0, 1.2, 1.7, 2.0, etc. I don't remember their name because they weren't very big and I've heard some other things about them having trouble with paying bills and keeping customers.
quentin
Posted: Dec 23, 2010 09:55 AM
I had someone ask about it too. It is a Demilac product. Of course the yield isn't nearly as good as a result and I looked at it for the customer. In the end, you might as well go to a closed cell instead when you look at the cost/yields and etc.
steven argus
Posted: Dec 23, 2010 10:41 AM
We've used a 1#, 1.2# and we will try the .8# very soon. We only use it 2 x 6 stud bays to avoid trimming and making trips to the dump. If you add in the extra labor for trimming .5#, dump fees and your crew whinning and grumbling about the trimming, it's a no brainer. I figure we shave off at least 1 full day, maybe 2, of labor/whinning on a typical 2500SF house.
mason
Posted: Dec 23, 2010 11:34 AM