Q&A Forums

SPF and condensation Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Jeff Knight
Posted: Mar 03, 2010 02:49 PM
SPF and condensation
I'm building ultra townhomes w/ stone roof terraces over the master bedrooms, in Zone 4 (Wash DC). The roofdeck / ceiling construction is 2" stone on 4" concrete on metal pan decking over 8" steel i-beams, then 1-3" under the beams to the drywall surface (roof deck slopes). So between the beams we have 9-11" for insulation. We want to spray closed cell on bottom of pan decking, and to encapsulate the beams. 3" has been recommended by our contractor, that's what he typically does in our area. That's roughly R-16, and my building code says I need R-38. If we batt R-22 fiberglass under the ccSPF, we lower the dew point on the surface of the cc to where we get condensation. Remove the batts, no condensation, but also no R-38. Has anybody else faced this dilemma?
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Mar 03, 2010 03:10 PM
Welcome to the world of Spray Foam and the R-value dilemma! The codes are based on fiberglass R-values and not R-values of other products. Techincally speaking, R-value should only be usedon solid materials and not porous materials like fiberglass. That's where the lobbyingh of the filterglass comes into play. Because they are the big gorilla in the industry, they rule out! So, How can you meet an R-38 code when it's beasedon filterglass performance R-value??