Q&A Forums

Soy Based Foam Breakdown Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
SPFer
Posted: Mar 08, 2010 02:51 PM
Soy Based Foam Breakdown
Mason,

I heard that there is some concern with the Soy Based foams breaking down over time. Somthing about breaking down into some sort of a liquidy, sucrose solution. Have you or anyone else had any issues with this?
mason
Posted: Mar 08, 2010 03:36 PM
That is a new one that I haven't heard before. And I have been consulting on more than 2 dozen foam projects the last 2 years.
SPFer
Posted: Mar 08, 2010 03:46 PM
From what I heard (which is only what I heard), this is an issue which would happen over numerous years. How long have the soy based foams been around and are they tested for longevity over time?
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Mar 08, 2010 06:17 PM
As someone who has used much of the BioBased Spray Foam, I have not seen or heard of it falling apart or degrading years later. This is a new one to me too, and I don't think it holds water at this point based on my experience with BioBased products.

I have used it for over 6 years now and it's still the same as when I sprayed it - except maybe a little bit yellower now!
Michael Fusco
Posted: Mar 08, 2010 07:34 PM
There was a single manufacturer who had a problem on a single jobsite some years ago.

That particular manufacturer, who claimed soy content had to admit there was none on that particular jobsite.

Other than that, there has never been a documented case of a breakdown of any soy based foam.
mason
Posted: Mar 08, 2010 07:59 PM