Q&A Forums

Respiratory PPE in Spray Booth? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Jeri Devlin
Posted: Jun 29, 2011 03:02 PM
Respiratory PPE in Spray Booth?
Another Safety-related question: We would like to use a spray booth with windows to demonstrate SPF application to our sales force and potential customers. Does anyone know of guidance documents or air monitoring studies that would indicate what type of respirator would be required inside the booth and how long the customer should wait outside the booth before being able to view up close and touch the finished foam?
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jun 29, 2011 05:11 PM
air monitoring data from who? OSHA, NIOSH, EPA??? Is this a joke? They only have about 6 air monitoring testing sites that they've dont air monitoring at and the data is a joke! It's mixed with sprayer, and trimmer and then they switched sometime and then switched back. the whole time, they didn't have any exhaust/intake ventilation within the space. So, the data your looking for is questionable at best and I think you'd be looking for a legal suit of sometype just for bringing this out in the open. I know OSHA, NIOSH and the EPA all have guidelines whcih are stated but they aren't based on factual data so what good are they?

Your guess is as good as mine!
Jeri Devlin
Posted: Jun 29, 2011 05:24 PM
Wow. Now you know why I'm called Rookie. Maybe it should be "born yesterday". We're wearing SARS in the booth, but I don't know that its necessary and hoped some big company with IH on staff might have done some testing. Guess better safe than sorry.
mason
Posted: Jun 29, 2011 06:16 PM