Q&A Forums

R value Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Harry S
Posted: Jun 15, 2010 11:54 AM
R value
Mason, I have to bid a job for cathedral ceilings in 7 townhomes. The general contractor wants to achieve the greatest amount of R value in these overheads. Rafters are 2x8....If I fill the full 8" cavity with 2# cc, would I get R 56 or close to it? If not, what R value would I be getting? Thanks in advance
mason
Posted: Jun 15, 2010 05:45 PM
Different SPF systems have various R values as tested according to FTC and ASTM standards and requirements. You can have anywhere from 5.8 to 6.7 R values. So at 8 inches it could vary from 47 t0 54. In my opinion anything over 5 inches of closed cell foam is overkill unless you are in extremely cold temperatures such as northern Alaska or Canada.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jun 17, 2010 12:50 PM
So, this question leads us all to the issue at hand. R-values!! We're being held to them as if they're gospel and there is no way to refute it. But in fact, it's a true and false measurement -endorsed by the FTC. Who's going to tae this project on!!! SPFA????? It was our number 1 request from the contractor's meeting and I haven't heard anything since.