Q&A Forums

Maximum effective depth Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
stevie berman
Posted: Sep 23, 2008 01:11 AM
Maximum effective depth
I'm a builder who's insulating an unvented cathedral ceiling in a remodel. Previously insulated with fiberglass and it rotted from the inside. Rafter depth is 7" (it has been furred down).

After researching, a minimum of 3" ccSPF seems like the way to go. I'd like to get to R-38 (code for my area). It's a relatively small area, 600 sq ft, so I don't mind adding more ccSPF to achieve a higher insulative value.

I've heard from several experienced foam applicators that anything over 5.5" of ccSPF is overkill. Do you agree?
mason
Posted: Sep 23, 2008 05:19 PM
There comes a point where the added foam doesn't provide cost effective insulation. It will vary depending on the difference in temperature between the interior and the exterior.

For example in South Texas, temperature 95 degrees average, and a cold storage temperature of -10 degrees, the cost effective thickness of closed cell SPF was around 5 to 6 inches.

However, your code official may insist on full R value thickness of R 38 unless you provide them with research data that demonstrates lessor R values of ccSPF provide the equivalent insulative value of other insulation with higher R values.

SPFA has conducted comparison tests in attics and walls that show a 20 to 35 % greater energy efficiency than fiberglass insulated walls and attics in similar climate conditions.

Contact Rick Duncan at SPFA for test results.
Jim Coler
Posted: Sep 24, 2008 09:06 AM
We run into this issue with code officials all the time and some of them will not budge - or use any common sense. All some of them want to see is a number stamped on the product or on the spec sheet per the installed thickness.