Q&A Forums

High humidity level in spray foam house Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Karli Pritchett
Posted: May 16, 2010 10:16 PM
High humidity level in spray foam house
I just had a house built with spray foam and have been living in it for less than one year. Throughout the winter I have had excessive condensation on my windows to the point of ice inside the house on the windows. I have mold growing in almost every window in my house. I found my humidity level was almost 70%! I've had one "expert" tell me I need vinal windows instead of aluminum, and another tell me I need an energy recovery ventilator, and a central dehumidifier. The builder has made no effort to help me figure out how to solve this problem. I have done a lot of research on the internet and can't find anyone who agrees, or knows for sure how to fix my problem. I need to know what will fix my house? Please help!
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: May 17, 2010 07:25 AM
It sounds like the foam did a great job at sealing up the house - as it was supposed to! So, the question is where is the moisture coming from???? Is the basement floor water proofed? Are the basement walls water prrofed? Tehse are the tow most common areas of mositure migration!!
mason
Posted: May 17, 2010 09:47 AM
You have to find the source of the moisture and then reduce the amount of moisture coming into the house and increase the amount of moisture leaving the house. 70% humidity level is very high even for a well sealed home.

Some things to look for.