Q&A Forums

Glascraft mini III is this a decent machine how are parts availability Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Posted: Apr 07, 2010 01:50 PM
Glascraft mini III is this a decent machine how are parts availability
Looking at a used working rig it is in their rotation of equipment and they use it weekly, I know it is older and discontiued, but is this a decent machine to get my feet wet? how bad is it to get parts when I need them? any one still using one on here? or should I run the other direction and build up a rig with new stuff. I always work on my own equipment, bobcats etc, and I am a small time contractor and have basically sprayed 1 house after the guy I hired decided it was more than he thought..Im sure it was his first job. I am not planning on setting any sales records I just want something else to offer. I already know it is a hard dirty job. I am already a believer in the product.
mason
Posted: Apr 07, 2010 02:55 PM
Having been in charge of Gusmer's Sales and Technical Department for a few years in the late 90s (which included the decisions on what equipment to support in the way of parts), I can tell you that the equipment manufacturers do not like to provide parts for out of date and discontinued equipment It is even worse for discontinued equipment manufactured by companies that have been bought out by other companies such as Glascraft by Gusmer and Graco.

So, long term it will be more and more difficult to get parts, plus more difficult to get technical support from your equipment supplier and material supplier on outdated equipment.

I always recommend to new foamers to get new equipment from folks that can provide the best support in technical service and parts. You will also need very good education and training from a reputable source