Q&A Forums

Foam question Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Bryan Kwater
Posted: Feb 28, 2011 10:58 PM
Foam question
If I am not mistaken, closed cell foam is >90% closed cells. What percentage of closed cells is typically in open cell foam such as .5 pound or 1.0 pound?

Also, is there a benefit to having more open cells in a foam? How about for sound absorbing?
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Mar 01, 2011 06:25 AM
You are correct! The way it was explained to me, is each cell has 13 sides to it and on;y 1 side is cracked open in closed cell and 3 sides cracked open in open cell! Tha's the difference!So, I don't see much difference in the products except that the closed cell is much more expensive/R-value and much more inflexible.

Wood is also an open cell. So why would you want to spray a closed cell product in an open cell cavity? But then again, it is only partially closed cell with at least 1 side cracked open!

Clsoed cell will still absorb water but when it does, it doesn't let it out. That's one of the biggest differences between open and closed cell.
Jim
Jeremy Slosek
Posted: Mar 01, 2011 06:54 AM
Well we have been in business for ten years and Closed Cell is 90% of our business. We have found this to be the superior product. I think maybe the info that some people get is misleading.
steven argus
Posted: Mar 01, 2011 09:51 AM
Talk to a 2# guy and he's gonna say 2# is the best. Talk to a .5# guy and of course, he will say .5# is the best. All desities of foam have their place. We spray them all and all foams perform better than filterglass or newspaper.