Q&A Forums

flash & bat Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Yvan Richard
Posted: Jun 05, 2010 08:49 AM
flash & bat
I have a number of potential clients that want 2" of 2lb foam and then want to put bat insulation. Being that the foam qualifies as a vapour barrier, however the foam/vapour barrier will not be on the warm side of the application. Will the bat insulation be effective on the warm side without a poly vapour barrier?
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jun 05, 2010 10:44 AM
Anywhere North of Washington DC, I would say no to flash and batt!!! It's just wrong and we've already seen problems with customers who decided to go to competitors and have it done and call us 6 months to a year later and say they have water in their walls!!! In theory, it would be fine, but since filterglass is just that a filter of the air, it will still allow the moisture to pass through and condense on the inside of the foam/ inside edges of the studs!

That brings up another point, that the studs are much more of a conductor of the heat than the foam. Since it's only an R-1 per inch of wood and we have 2" of wood separating the outside from the inside, it will condense on the studs before the foam.

So, anywhere North of DC, I say no way!!
Jim Coler
John Shockney
Posted: Jun 05, 2010 11:02 AM
Check with Johns Manville on their recommendations they bought Corbond and have done testing for flash and bat systems.

They do say that a closed cell only wall system is still better.

I don’t personally recommend flash and bat because I don’t find any cost or performance advantage.