Q&A Forums

attic 'hot-roof' in cold climate Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Andre Jord
Posted: Jul 31, 2013 10:18 AM
attic 'hot-roof' in cold climate
I have an attic that I discovered when renovating my home - it was built below a fairly low-slope (shingled) roof.

There's no ventilation, roof vents or soffit intakes.

Currently, the rafters are filled with four inches of wood shavings mixed with lime (to keep the bugs out, I'd guess).

My concern is that if I were to spray foam the roof decking itself, any warm air that goes up into the attic would just stay there and rot the ceiling, even if it's not condensating on the roof deck...

I imagine this is done often - but is it ok for a cold (NW Ontario) climate?
Andre Jord
Posted: Jul 31, 2013 10:21 AM
FOrgot to add - I'm getting the sawdust out now, and will not be adding a vapor barrier to the ceiling side..
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jul 31, 2013 01:43 PM
Just to understand, you have a roof below another roof with an airspace in between and then you have the sawdust under the lower roof - Is this correct?

I would say that you have little to no concerns with the moisture once you spray the attic underside with foam. This could mean the underside of the lower roof or the underside of the upper roof. If you spray the foam to the underside of the lower roof, then you would need to make sure that the air space between the two roofs is well ventilated with adequate intake and exhaust ventilation.