Q&A Forums

another new foamer with questions Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Dave Hounsome
Posted: Sep 14, 2009 11:46 AM
another new foamer with questions
I am interested in possibly starting a spray foam business that would primarily do residential foam insulation, possibly industrial as well. I am currently a chemical engineer for a flexible slabstock polyurethane foam manufacturer in Canada, but the flex slab business has gone down hill real fast in the last 3-4 years. Currently at about 50% of what it used to be. With attending the CPI (SPI, API, PFA) meetings over the years I have come to learn that the spray foam industry is the only polyurethane industry in North America that is showing growth. But my employer doesn't want to move into this industry.
I am very familiar with the chemistry and equipment needed for a spray foam business but I do have some questions that I hope you guys can help with.

I am located in Ontario, Canada and have done a search on this website,the CUFCA website, and the yellow pages to try and find out how many other spray foamers are in the area. It seems like there are about 12-15 spray foamers in the Toronto, Hamilton, Niagara region.

Here are the questions.
1. As someone starting out, is it possible to succeed with growing your business as a part time venture, working evenings and weekends until things get going with regular jobs?
2. What would the rate of growth be for a start-up company?
3. What size population base is required to keep contractors happy. For example 50-100,000 population per contractor, or more or less?
4. Can you run your company from home at the start or do you need a commercial address?
5. If running it from home, how does insurance come into play when storing the drums of material in your trailer on your driveway?