Q&A Forums

Spraying foam over fiberglass in attic Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Lynn Mether
Posted: Jan 19, 2011 08:17 PM
Spraying foam over fiberglass in attic
First of all long time reader first time poster-
Now I'm not suggesting anyone spraying foam over fiberglass in an attic but how is doing that any different from flash and crap in the walls(not a proponet of that either) just wondering.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Jan 19, 2011 08:46 PM
It's not much different! You stil have a vapor barrier on the outside of the wall (ceiling) system! You still allow the air carrying the moisture with it through the fiberglass and coming in contact with the foam. So, it depends on how much you install. If you only install an inch of Closed cell or 2" of open cell, then you'll likely miss a couple of spots and have bypasses right around your insulation. So, if anything I would recommend 4" of CC and 6" of OC to make sure you have enough insulation and R-value to prevent condensation.
Hope this helps!
Jim
Lynn Mether
Posted: Jan 19, 2011 09:16 PM
Thanks for the quick reply. That is kind of what I was thinking.
On a side note has anyone ever seen an attic with fiberglass installed good? I have not. Usually instead of cutting the fiberglass to lenght the just overlap it and have huge gaps in it. There is no way like Jim said the get a perfectly even coating of foam.
SPFer
Posted: Jan 19, 2011 11:29 PM
Are you talking about spraying on top of the fiberglass on the floor, or spraying underneath the fiberglass that's between the roof rafters?
Lynn Mether
Posted: Jan 19, 2011 11:33 PM
on the floor of the attic is what I was thinking of. I haven't ever personally been in an attic with the fiberglass stapled to the roof truss.