Q&A Forums

Spray technique on a metal shipping container. Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Brad Smith
Posted: Dec 31, 2010 03:46 AM
Spray technique on a metal shipping container.
Question for you seasoned foamers out there.
I have to spray 1 inch of closed cell foam on a metal shipping container.

The walls are made with corragated metal which run vertically.
What would be the best approach to spraying this container to give me a smooth consistant finish?
Should I spray vertically with the metal or spray horizontally?
I am new to spray foaming and have only sprayed flat surfaces so far.
Any advise or tips with this would be greatly appreciated.
Posted: Dec 31, 2010 10:37 AM
It really doesn't matter; however, you will find that spraying horizontal will give you less pass lines. Overlap your passes by 75% to 80% while you are spraying and watch your tie ins so that you don't overlap over the previous pass to much and it will be fairly flat.

If you tend to be bumpy, speed up your hands moving side to side. You will have to pass over the same spot a couple of times once you speed up your hands though.

Also, if it is cold, metal is a pain to spray on. You won't get any lift on cold metal. Try to heat up the substrate as best as possible. Something as simple as a black tarp or visquine on the outside of the container will help heat up the metal once the sun hits it.

I always try to stay about 30" away from what I am spraying unless I am on a 90 Degree Angle, then I get up close to make a cant and then back away on my next passes.

The good thing that you have going for you is that the corrugated shipping container will look flatter than what it actually is because of the corrugation, if that makes any sense.

If it was a completely flat surface, then the imperfections would be a lot more visible.
Brad Smith
Posted: Dec 31, 2010 01:14 PM