Q&A Forums

Spray foam insulation harmful to ABS plumbing pipe Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Barbara Dramer
Posted: Sep 02, 2007 01:20 AM
Spray foam insulation harmful to ABS plumbing pipe
I'm an owner builder in California's central valley (hot & dry climate) and recently had spray foam installed in an apartment over my garage. I think it's great and recommend it to a lot of people. Also, I've done tons and tons of research on it. So imagine my surprise when my neighbor across the street, who is redoing her kitchen, is told by two different building inspectors that spray foam insulation is harmful to ABS plumbing pipe, and they advise her not to use it. She had gotten a bid to do her kitchen walls and attic with the foam, but after what the inspectors said, she went with fiberglass. I was dumbfounded. I'd never heard of any problem with ABS, and so I went to the internet and after about 3 hours of searching I am coming up with absolutely NOTHING!! These inspectors, both of whom had backgrounds as plumbers, told her that the ABS deteriorates when in direct contact with spray form (closed vs open, soy vs polyurethane not part of their comments). What gives? I suspect these guys are just blowing smoke. But why? Who would they be protecting? I cannot find anything in writing anywhere about this "problem". Can any of you comment?
Posted: Sep 03, 2007 07:37 AM
tripe,,,what else can you say...
plastic is plastic

i would educate,,,,
then let them know they are at risk of proffessional liability by restricting your companies ability to generate income based upon their statements of untruth & inaccuracies ...remind them that they need to be sure of the codes that they enforce in order to enforce them...remind them that they represent a jurisdiction who is equally liable for their actions,,call your council persons and just give em a heads up of the tripe you the taxpaying business person are being presented with under their representation...