Q&A Forums

probler p2 question Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
philip mullins
Posted: Oct 27, 2007 07:53 PM
probler p2 question
i was spraying a roofdeck saturday and my gun started leaking resin from behind the spray tip when triggered. i am still a newbie and all probs are new to me. but doing my homework before getting into this buisness, and common sense told me to check my side seal. since i took apart and reassembled my gun many times before ever using it, it didnt take long to remove and inspect the side seal. it looked fine! so did the o-ring!??????????? reassembled and the gun sprayed another set and a half with no probs. so now i am concerned. i have no idea what the hell happened and am worried that it will happen again. any ideas? tx
Tim O'Keefe
Posted: Oct 28, 2007 01:21 AM
Most likely you had a little impurity on the side seal which was allowing material to leak by. When you disassembled it again, the foreign matter was removed or otherwise flushed from the system. Since you sprayed the next 1.5 sets without issue I wouldn't worry!

BTW These are the discussions I like. You'll probably have someone (salesman) chime in and offer to sell you a new P2 that they have in stock to fix your problem!

Tim
Granite State Spray Foam Co.
SprayFoamSupply.com
Posted: Oct 28, 2007 07:34 AM
Could you elaborate? What do you mean behind the tip? Do you mean around the tip or around the gun head where the side block attaches? When the gun was triggered? Do you mean while you were spraying you had foam and leaky resin? Either way, it is probably what Tim said; if you get a little junk on the end of the side seal, between the side seal and mixing chamber, you won't get a good seal and some resin can slip by. If that is the case, then when you are not spraying and air is coming out of the tip, you will see a fine mist of material coming out.

Hope this helps,

George
philip mullins
Posted: Oct 28, 2007 10:46 PM