Q&A Forums

Local Code Issues with CC Foam Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Dave Revelle
Posted: Jun 25, 2007 05:48 PM
Local Code Issues with CC Foam
I'm a builder who is about to build my own house here in North Carolina. My local SPF contractor will be spraying CC foam in the wall cavities, and I'd like him to spray CC in the rafter cavities as well (it will be a sealed and conditioned attic). The problem according to my foam contractor: our local building inspector has deemed CC unsuitable for application to the underside of the roof decking and will allow only OC foam (seems the Icynene folks have bamboozled him). I want to persuade him to allow me to use CC, so here are my questions: How unusual is it for a city/county to ban the use of CC foam for the underside of roof decking (obviously if our locality is in the extreme minority it would help my case)? Does anyone know of any documents based on research/studies, or other evidence of any kind, that I might use in my arguments for using CC on the underside of the roof deck? I greatly appreciate whatever advice you can share...
Luke Kujacznski
Posted: Jun 25, 2007 06:59 PM