Q&A Forums

Intemescent coatings (2) Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Grady Littlehale
Posted: Sep 15, 2009 07:30 PM
Intemescent coatings (2)
Hi Mason,

I have bid numerous jobs that require an intumescent coating which is required by law as you know. The question is can the state you live in (Maine) not allow the use of a SPRAY applied coating even if it has passed IRC,IBC,NFPA286 and every other test thrown at it?

Thanks
mason
Posted: Sep 16, 2009 08:39 AM
Codes are interpreted and enforced by the local building code official. Sometimes their interpretation varies from place to place. Get to know your local code official and try to provide them with the best, informed and up to date industry information and how it allows your product to be used in compliance with the codes that they are using.
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: Sep 16, 2009 07:59 PM