Q&A Forums

Did we spray better wall foam 35 -40 years ago? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
mason
Posted: May 03, 2012 08:37 AM
Did we spray better wall foam 35 -40 years ago?
I have been holding my tongue for a few years now waiting to find some really good craftsman who spray foam as good as the folks I worked with in the 70s. Back then we could spray a flat wall with 5 inches of foam to a 1/4" tolerance and between stud walls and ceiling to a 1/2 tolerance. We would go years without a call back because of shrinking foam or odor issues This is using equipment that had horrible temperature control and spray guns that would require constant maintenance.

I have visited a few contractors who have applicators who fit that high standard of excellence, but all too often, the jobs I see today show pretty sloppy technique and poor quality control.

I can attribute this to the decreased importance of uniformity of foam application because the foam does not need to be covered with plaster as much as our foam was in the 60s and 70s (which required a tolerance no greater than 1/4") and to the huge increase of contractors in the marketplace that has led to inadequate applicator spray technique training.

I am working hard to help the spray foam industry include training that shows a new applicator how to spray foam with fewer bumps, humps and greater uniformity. Not only would this look better, it would save a lot of material/money and reduce the potential for instability of the foam.

Please join in this crusade. Let's make our jobs look better than they did 40 years ago.

Now I am off my soapbox, just wanted to get it off my chest
jimcoler

I have over 10 years of experience specifying and installing open and closed cell spray foam. I've sold my business but I'm still selling for the new owners and consulting on large and custom specific jobs. 

I've expanded my knowledge into t

Posted: May 03, 2012 09:20 AM