Q&A Forums

Deep Cavity fills and triming equipment Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Gary Galloway
Posted: Sep 04, 2006 02:45 PM
Deep Cavity fills and triming equipment
I am looking for two things right now. The first is a way to fill deep verticle cavities leaving no voids in them. An example would be a 4 inch gap between two brick walls with acess from the top only with a cavity depth of 7 feet. the other item of interest would be a rapid trimming machine that would allow overfilling wall cavities in new construction and then triming the overfill down to the framing studs to provide a completely filled wall cavity. I feel certain that some of you out there know what I need. I am very new to this business and would appreciate any help you can provide.
SprayFoamSupply.com
Posted: Sep 04, 2006 09:11 PM
If you have a P2 gun, you can get a jet stream nozzle and shoot a stream of foam down a 7' high cavity if you can look down it and see the bottom. I have a foam planer that I use to to trim the foam back to the studs. They are a bit high in price, use alot of air, and make lots of dust with .5lb foam, less dust with closed cell foam. The finished look is beautiful though. A 16" planer with wire brush for .5lb foam is $1,080 or with a blade for closed cell is $1,470.

George
Melvin Chandler
Posted: Sep 05, 2006 11:24 PM
Holy cow Batman! Big bucks!!!

What do you know about the saws that Demilec pushes? I've got to purchase some type of cutting tool soon. Don't want to go with a planer just yet. I know, pay now or pay later. I've gone big with everything at this point. I have to purchase within means for a while.
Posted: Sep 07, 2006 01:56 PM