Q&A Forums

Closed cell foam on small cottage with barn roof Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
Matt Magrisi
Posted: Feb 22, 2012 07:18 PM
Closed cell foam on small cottage with barn roof
Hey guys I was looking for a little advise and I am new to the business and I hope to get some great feed back on your opinions.

I was asked to quote and small cottage style home with as I can describe it as a barn style roof starting close to the ground. The home owner and the roofer would like to re-insulate with spray foam when the take off the shingles and roof decking.

My concerns being I would have to leave room for air flow between the new sub-straight and the foam that was installed on the drywall because I could not firmly bond the foam to both the drywall and the roof decking.

I would love to hear if I am correct or someones past experiences.

The roof style is like this: apx 10 Sq roof
____
/ \
_/______\______ Ground level
Matt Magrisi
Posted: Feb 22, 2012 07:25 PM
of course that roof image didn't come out right after I submitted the post
mason
Posted: Feb 22, 2012 08:05 PM
Where is the foam being sprayed from the top down? I am not a fan of that technique. Prefer placing the foam on the ceiling of the roof deck in an unvented attic or cathedral ceiling concept.
Matt Magrisi
Posted: Feb 24, 2012 06:56 PM
I would normally do just that, spray from the inside out, but the roofer is ripping the whole roof off to replace all of the materials. The home owner would like to have the house spray foamed during the process and I just wanted to hear everyone's ideas but I don't see much input on here...

I am worried about maintaining the air flow for venting the roof or condensation building up along the roof decking.

Any other ideas or comments?

below there is a link of the style... minus the first floor. the roof line extends almost to the ground level.
Circle-D
Posted: Feb 24, 2012 09:05 PM
Hi Eco,