Q&A Forums

Tip/chamber reccomendations? Post New Topic | Post Reply

Author Comments
quentin
Posted: Nov 18, 2008 09:43 PM
Tip/chamber reccomendations?
Spraying LaPolla, P@/A5 3000 setup and curious what tip and chamber combinations seem to work best for others. Have 00/00 right now and just got an 02 tip but would I need a bigger chamber too? Just not sure on how the size of the mixing chambers relate to the tip sizes and effects the ratios in size differences effect things. I know bigger means more output and larger pattern at the tip but what about the chamber and any general rules on which should be bigger than the other or should you always use equal sizes like 02 tip with 02 chambers only?
SPRAYFOAM GODDESS
Posted: Nov 19, 2008 03:13 PM
Hi Quentin,

Thanks for spraying LaPolla. Forgive me, I am still learning the Glascraft product line.

The mixing chamber side ports only allow a certain amount of material to flow, changing the insert will only change the pattern. The orifice is determining how much material can flow through the mixing chamber, and generally an 00 is used for coatings or polyurea, low flow applications.

If you are spraying open cell I would recommend either a 0 or 01, which would be somewhere between .037 and .042 orifice. Putting a larger size insert should add to the pattern, and a smaller will restrict. If you are spraying closed cell, I would recommend an 01 or 02 for walls, and have a selection of inserts to try based on the stud size. Its going to be a preference as to what pattern/output you like best.
SprayFoamSupply.com
Posted: Nov 19, 2008 04:37 PM
Quentin,